Ride the wave of change

Conquer the waves with the world's first recyclable & reclycled surfboard. Beautifully designed & 100% sustainable.

Merijaan-cup
merijaan-bottle2
LP-Header
Merijaan-bag

OUR BELIEF

We believe in a world without new plastic. And we really love surfing. That’s why we turn plastic waste into beautiful new products for surfers. We also educate and empower people around the world to recycle plastic and make the world a cleaner place.

DSC02074_copy

Surf

RECYCLABLE & RECYCLED SURF EQUIPMENT
2002_Girl_School_presenting

Social

EDUCATING ABOUT PLASTIC THROUGH UP- & RECYCLING

Surf &
Social

Merijaan is built on two foundations. Surf uses plastic waste to create awesome surf equipment. Social educates people about recycling and creates awareness for plastic as a resource by setting up local value chains.

WHO WE ARE

We’re surfers, lovers, engineers, thinkers, activists, designers and developers. We change the world little by little, wave by wave, day by day. We’re working towards a world without new plastic production. Inspired by the Precious Plastic movement, we recycle plastic waste into new, beautiful and durable products.

MEET THE MERIJAANS

We’re always looking for like-minded people to strengthen our team and create a cleaner environment. Appreciation and respect are major elements of our company culture, because we believe that a happy team is the key to success.

Gianna

Gianna

CEO
Merijaan_Mona

Mona

Success Manager
René

René

Engineering

Isabella, Chief Creative Officer

Who are you and what do you do at Merijaan? 

I am Isabella. Dancing Warrior and co-founder of Merijaan. I am responsible for everything design related. My studies in furniture design and my time as a businesswoman are a big help there.

Tell us about yourself!

I love creating things. Whether it's making music, baking a cake or developing a surfboard that revolutionises the surfing world. I also like to go for walks.

Why are you with Merijaan? 

From records to crown caps, I've always loved reusing raw materials. And I find it scary how plastic waste is slowly taking over nature. I want to change that and make people rethink the way they’re using plastic.

What do you enjoy about working at Merijaan?

We work on many different projects and we have a great team. That's what I enjoy the most: fighting together for a plastic-free world.

Isabella

Co-founder

Gianna

Co-founder

Gianna,

Geschäftsführerin

Who are you and what do you do at Merijaan? 

I am Gianna, co-founder and CEO of Merijaan. I make sure Merijaan keeps on riding the wave of success - strategic and money wise. And I make sure all the things that no one else does get done ????😉

Tell us about yourself!

I love sports in nature. Vaulting, arco yoga, kitesurfing, everything! I studied industrial engineering and worked at Bombardier and Capgemini among others. In 2016, I presented the first idea for Merijaan in a social venture competition at the UN in New York.

Why are you with Merijaan?

During a semester abroad in India, I saw so much poverty and plastic waste that I really wanted to do something about it. After many failed attempts, we found a solution with Merijaan that addresses both problems.

What do you enjoy about working at Merijaan?

Standing in the workshop, melting plastic while listening to loud techno with Isa! And our team is simply the best. I'm always impressed and inspired by the great work everyone does. There are a thousand little things I enjoy about working at Merijaan.

Mona, Success Manager

Who are you and what do you do at Merijaan? 

I am Mona and I take care of what is acutely needed at the moment. I process email requests and support the practical implementation in our workshop. In addition, I have made it my mission to give Merijaan a reach, especially among the younger generation.

Tell us about yourself!

I am always looking for change and new experiences. I love action and interaction with people. It's important to me that I see meaning behind what I do.

Why are you with Merijaan?

It often gives me a headache how many problems there are in the world and the associated feeling of never being able to eliminate them all. Especially how our planet is ruined by the ruthlessness of humans makes me sad. Merijaan is contributing to a more sustainable world and I want to be part of that.

What do you enjoy about working at Merijaan?

For me, it was amazing to be integrated into the team right away. The interaction with each other is great and I love the feeling of doing something meaningful.

Merijaan_Mona
René

René, Engineering

Who are you and what do you do at Merijaan?

I'm René and I run Merijaan's technical department. Product development, feasibility, conception - that’s all on my plate.

Tell us about yourself!

I've been boarding since I was little - in the snow, on the water, everywhere. That's where I feel free. I recently started mountain biking again - pure adrenaline! I used to work in technical design in the automotive industry.

Why are you with Merijaan? 

Plastic is not waste, but an important resource. Industry and politics do nothing about littering because it seems unprofitable. That's exactly where we come in with Merijaan - and prove that change is possible.

What do you enjoy about working at Merijaan?

The wonderful team and developing products that are not only trimmed for profit, but also for meaning... The social aspect of what we do is incredibly important to me!

OUR ENABLERS

Ride the wave of change

Die Wellen gehören dir - mit dem ersten recyceltem & recycelbarem Surfbrett der Welt! 100% nachhaltig, jedes Brett ein Unikat. Was will man Meer?

Merijaan-cup
merijaan-bottle2
LP-Header
Merijaan-bag

UNSERE VISION

Wir glauben an eine Welt ohne neues Plastik. Und aus dem alten machen wir das Beste. Außerdem lieben wir Surfen. Deswegen entwickeln & vermarkten wir nachhaltiges Surfequipment und schaffen durch Aufklärung ein neues Bewusstsein für den Umgang mit Plastik.

DSC02074_copy

Surf

RECYCELBARES & RECYCELTES SURFEQUIPMENT
2002_Girl_School_presenting

Social

AUFKLÄRUNG ÜBER DEN WERT VON PLASTIK DURCH UP- & RECYCLING

Surf &
Social

Merijaan besteht aus zwei Elementen. Surf recycelt Plastik und entwickelt nachhaltiges Surfequipment. Social klärt über Recycling auf, trägt zur Bildung bei und schafft lokale Wertschöpfungsketten.

WER WIR SIND

Wir sind Surfer:innen, Ingenieur:innen, Denker:innen, Aktivist:innen, Designer:innen und Entwickler:innen. Wir verändern die Welt Stück für Stück, Welle für Welle, Tag für Tag. Wir arbeiten für eine Welt ohne neue Plastikproduktion. Inspiriert von der Precious Plastic-Bewegung recyceln wir Plastikabfälle zu neuen, schönen und langlebigen Produkten.

TRIFF DIE MERIJAANS

Wir sind immer auf der Suche nach Gleichgesinnten, um unser Team zu verstärken und eine saubere Umwelt zu schaffen. Wertschätzung und Respekt sind wichtige Elemente unserer Unternehmenskultur, denn für uns ist ein glückliches Team der Schlüssel zum Erfolg.

Gianna

Gianna

CEO
Merijaan_Mona

Mona

Success Manager
René

René

Engineering

Isabella, Chief Creative Officer

Wer bist du und was machst du bei Merijaan? 

Ich bin Isabella. Dancing Warrior und Mitbegründerin von Merijaan. Ich bin für alles zuständig, was mit Design zu tun hat. Mein Studium in Möbeldesign und meine Zeit als Unternehmerin sind dabei eine große Hilfe.

Erzähl uns von dir!

Ich liebe es, Dinge zu erschaffen. Sei es Musik machen, einen Kuchen backen oder ein Surfbrett entwickeln, das die Surfwelt revolutioniert. Außerdem gehe ich gerne spazieren.

Warum bist du bei Merijaan? 

Von Schallplatten bis zu Kronkorken - ich habe es schon immer geliebt, Rohstoffe wiederzuverwenden. Und ich finde es erschreckend, wie der Plastikmüll langsam die Natur übernimmt. Ich möchte das ändern und die Menschen dazu bringen, ihren Umgang mit Plastik zu überdenken.

Was gefällt dir an der Arbeit bei Merijaan?

Wir arbeiten an vielen verschiedenen Projekten und wir haben ein tolles Team. Das ist das, was mir am meisten Spaß macht: gemeinsam für eine plastikfreie Welt zu kämpfen.

Isabella

Co-founder

Gianna

Co-founder

Gianna,

Geschäftsführerin

Wer bist du und was machst du bei Merijaan? 

Ich bin Gianna, Mitbegründerin und CEO von Merijaan. Ich sorge dafür, dass Merijaan weiter auf der Erfolgswelle reitet - strategisch und finanziell gesehen. Außerdem sorge ich dafür, dass all die Dinge getan werden, die sonst niemand erledigt.😉

Erzähl uns von dir!

Ich liebe Sport in der Natur. Voltigieren, Arco-Yoga, Kitesurfen, alles! Ich habe Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen studiert und unter anderem bei Bombardier und Capgemini gearbeitet. 2016 habe ich die erste Idee für Merijaan bei einem Social-Venture-Wettbewerb bei der UN in New York vorgestellt.

Warum bist du bei Merijaan?

Während eines Auslandssemesters in Indien habe ich so viel Armut und Plastikmüll gesehen, dass ich unbedingt etwas dagegen tun wollte. Nach vielen gescheiterten Versuchen haben wir mit Merijaan eine Lösung gefunden, die beide Probleme angeht.

Was gefällt dir an der Arbeit bei Merijaan?

In der Werkstatt stehen, Plastik schmelzen und dabei lauten Techno mit Isa hören! Und unser Team ist einfach das Beste. Ich bin immer wieder beeindruckt und inspiriert von der tollen Arbeit, die jede:r leistet. Es gibt tausend kleine Dinge, die ich an der Arbeit bei Merijaan genieße.

Mona, Success Manager

Wer bist du und was machst du bei Merijaan? 

Ich bin Mona und kümmere mich, um das was gerade akut anfällt. Ich bearbeite Email-Anfragen und unterstütze bei der praktischen Umsetzung in unserer Werkstatt. Außerdem habe ich es mir zur Mission gemacht, Merijaan eine Reichweite vor allem auch in der jüngeren Generation zu geben.

Erzähl uns von dir!

Ich bin immer auf der Suche nach Veränderung und neuen Erfahrungen. Ich liebe Action und Austausch mit Menschen. Wichtig ist mir, dass ich hinter dem was ich tue, einen Sinn sehe.

Warum bist du bei Merijaan?

Mir bereitet es oft Kopfschmerzen, wie viele Probleme es auf der Welt gibt und das damit verbundene Gefühl niemals alle beseitigen zu können. Vor allem wie unser Planet durch die Rücksichtslosigkeit der Menschen zugrunde geht macht mich traurig. Merijaan leistet einen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigeren Welt und ich möchte Teil davon sein.

Was gefällt dir an der Arbeit bei Merijaan?

Für mich war es besonders schön, sofort ins Team integriert zu werden. Der Umgang untereinander ist toll und ich liebe das Gefühl, einer sinnvollen Tätigkeit nachzugehen.

Merijaan_Mona
René

René, Engineering

Wer bist du und was machst du bei Merijaan?

Ich bin René und ich leite die technische Abteilung von Merijaan. Produktentwicklung, Machbarkeit, Konzeption - das alles gehört zu meinem Aufgabenbereich.

Erzähl uns von dir!

Seit ich klein bin, fahre ich Boards - im Schnee, auf dem Wasser, überall. Da fühle ich mich frei. Vor kurzem habe ich wieder mit dem Mountainbiken angefangen - Adrenalin pur! Früher habe ich im technischen Design in der Automobilindustrie gearbeitet.

Warum bist du bei Merijaan? 

Plastik ist kein Abfall, sondern eine wichtige Ressource. Industrie und Politik tun nichts gegen Littering, weil es unrentabel erscheint. Genau da setzen wir mit Merijaan an - und beweisen, dass ein Wandel möglich ist.

Was gefällt dir an der Arbeit bei Merijaan?

Das wunderbare Team und die Entwicklung von Produkten, die nicht nur auf Profit getrimmt sind, sondern auch auf Sinn... Der soziale Aspekt dessen, was wir tun, ist für mich unglaublich wichtig!

UNSERE UNTERSTÜTZER:INNEN